Skip to content

More Solar Energy, Clojure, and Other Random Bits and Bytes

October 1, 2011

This post is going to pose a challenge in terms of tags (the words and phrases associated with a blog post in hopes of rising in web searches).  The reason is that I haven’t posted for a few days, have lots of ideas for posts, but no time to actually develop them, and promised myself that I would post something today.

So I’m going to give a sneak preview of my list of future posts.  Starting Monday I’ll actually have a breathing space to develop them.

The first gaggle of topics involve solar energy.  While this may not be the golden age of stock prices with respect to solar energy, it’s certainly the golden age of articles about solar.  A combination of GE’s entry into the market, the Solyndra collapse, the recommendations for shorting solar stocks by Jim Chanos (whom I greatly admire, although I think he’s dead wrong in the medium to long term about this one), and the U.S. military’s increasing role as a customer for solar power , has created a rich field of speculative articles about the future prospects for the solar industry.  I think my next blog post on solar energy might be about  the analysis of Jim Chanos, simply because he’s such a brilliant, interesting, and gutsy guy (ALL short sellers are gutsy, but Chanos is often correct in addition to being gutsy).

The second general topic I plan on writing about is Clojure.  This may not be of any interest to the non-programmers among my readers, but it’s of a great deal of interest to me.  Clojure is a contemporary dialect of Lisp, one of the oldest computer programming languages.  When I post about Clojure I’ll attempt to put together a description which is at least comprehensible to anyone with programming experience, but a quick synopsis would be that Clojure is a Lisp variant which tries to behave more like a consistently functional language (like ML or Haskell) than an imperative language (like C or PHP).  Clojure sits atop the Java Virtual Machine, which also gives it access to a wide range of Java classes and methods.

The other topics upon which I intend to ruminate over the next few months include personal productivity, simplicity, the very political topic of the role of government in technology, and why cycling is the most efficient and beneficial means of transportation ever devised :-)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 5, 2011 4:05 pm

    Once or twice when I’ve been especially busy, I’ve debated noting what was in the works. After reading this and going, “Yeah!” I think I’ll move from “debating” to “doing” next time.

    I work in software, although not as a programmer, so I do enjoy getting different insights into the programming/software dev worlds.

  2. October 20, 2011 12:03 am

    As it turns out, Deborah, my hiatus from blogging has been much longer than I thought :-) I’ve been readying myself for retirement from my “day job” and making the transition to full time freelance work. I logged into wordpress today to look over my half-written drafts, and get ready to write the articles I described.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 27 other followers

